Skip to main content
  • Home
  • Courses
  • First-Year Seminars in Colleges, Schools and Departments

First-Year Seminars in Colleges, Schools and Departments

All new WVU students complete a First-Year Seminar course to help you transition to college life at WVU. If you’ve been directly admitted into your college and have questions about your FYS, please reach out to your course coordinator listed below.

This is a list of Course Coordinators for students that have been directly admitted into their colleges and are taking a 191 course within their department.

Subject Code College/Department Contact Name Contact Email
ANRD Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design Amber McLaughlin  amber.mclaughlin1@mail.wvu.edu
ANTH Anthropology Susanna Donaldson  smdonaldson@mail.wvu.edu
ARSC Arts and Sciences Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
ART Art John Hendricks john.hendricks@mail.wvu.edu
AV&S Animal & Veterinary Science Hillar Klandorf hillar.klandorf@mail.wvu.edu
BCOR Business Rachel Nieman rachel.nieman@mail.wvu.edu
BIOL Biology Dana Huebert Lima  dana.huebert-lima@mail.wvu.edu
CDFS Child Development/Family Studies Ashley Martucci  ashley.martucci@mail.wvu.edu
CHEM Chemistry Michelle Richards-Babb  Michelle.Richards-Babb@mail.wvu.edu
COMM Communication Studies Brianna "Nikki" Loy  Nikki.Loy@mail.wvu.edu
CRIM Criminology Kathie Reilly  kathie.reilly@mail.wvu.edu
CSAD Communication Sciences and Disorders Jayne Brandel jayne.brandel@mail.wvu.edu
DSCI Data Science - No instructors listed Snehalata Huzurbazar snehalata.huzurbazar@mail.wvu.edu
DTHY Dental Hygiene Ashlee Sowards asowards@hsc.wvu.edu
EDHS Education and Human Services Ashley Martucci ashley.martucci@mail.wvu.edu
EDUC Education Emily Blosser  emily.blosser@mail.wvu.edu
ENGL English Douglas Phillips  douglas.phillips@mail.wvu.edu
ENGR Engineering Lizzie Santiago lizzie.santiago@mail.wvu.edu
EXPH Exercise Physiology Miriam Leary miriam.leary@hsc.wvu.edu
FIS Forensic and Investigative Science
Lisa Licata lisa.licata@mail.wvu.edu
GEOG Geography Jamie Toro jtoro@mail.wvu.edu
GEOL Geology Jamie Toro jtoro@mail.wvu.edu
HIMM Health Informatics and Information Management Chasity Mayhew (Instructor) chasity.mayhew@hsc.wvu.edu
HIMM History William Hal Gorby william.gorby@mail.wvu.edu
HONR Honors Ashley Watts ashley.watts@mail.wvu.edu
IMC Integrated Marketing Communications Aaron Hawley  Aaron.Hawley@mail.wvu.edu
IMMB Immunology & Medical Microbiology Meenal Elliot  melliot@hsc.wvu.edu
INTS International Studies Clarissa Estep  clarissa.estep@mail.wvu.edu
JOUR Journalism *Not listed in class list (maybe under MDIA)
LANG Language Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
MATH Math David Miller  millerd@math.wvu.edu
MDIA Media Gina Martino-Dahlia Gina.Dahlia@mail.wvu.edu
MDS Multidisciplinary Studies Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
MILS Military Science Penny Lipscomb Penny.Lipscomb@mail.wvu.edu
MUSC Music John Hendricks john.hendricks@mail.wvu.edu
NRSC Neuroscience Kristina Penikis  kristina.penikis@mail.wvu.edu
NSG Nursing Julian Nguyen julian.nguyen@hsc.wvu.edu
PALM Pathology, Anatomy, & Lab Medicine Luisa Battistella  luisa.battistella @hsc.wvu.edu
PASS Physical Activity/ Sport Sciences Colton Metzger colton.metzger@mail.wvu.edu
PHAR Pharmacy Mary Euler mleuler@hsc.wvu.edu
PHIL Philosophy Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
PHYS Physics Duncan Lorimer  duncan.lorimer@mail.wvu.edu
POLS Political Science John Kilwein jkilwein@mail.wvu.edu
PSYC Psychology Elizabeth Levelle elizabeth.levelle@mail.wvu.edu
PUBH Public Health Audra Hamrick (temporary contact) audra.hamrick@hsc.wvu.edu
RELG Religious Studies Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
SOC Sociology Susanna Donaldson  smdonaldson@mail.wvu.edu
SOWK Social Work Rebekah Dunaway  rjdunaway@mail.wvu.edu
THET Theater John Hendricks john.hendricks@mail.wvu.edu
WGST Women and Gender Studies Brandon Ritter  brritter@mail.wvu.edu
WVUE WVUe Rhonda Black
Jennifer MacDonald
rhonda.black@mail.wvu.edu